Adam’s Song: Potrero Life

Many of ya’ll reading this blog may be potential donors or volunteers that are interested in Abriendo Mentes, or potential visitors that are thinking about traveling to Costa Rica to experience life in paradise.  But beyond beaches and sun, what will life be like in another country, in a different culture?  Allow me to assuage these feelings and questions with a commentary of daily life in Playa Potrero.  Come with me as I paint a picture of a day in the life of an American ex-pat living in a local Costa Rican town, and happily enjoying every single minute of it.

The first thing that greets me in the morning is sensory overload.  The gloriously bright sun shining through my windows, the howling Papagayo winds rushing through my open doors, the multitude of unidentifiably delicious smells wafting through my apartment, and the sounds of life all around.  The cacophony of nature’s celebration always makes me wakeup with a huge smile on my face.

I’ll roll out of bed, still grinning, pull on my shoes, grab my dogs, and walk out of my complex to the majesty of steep, climbing mountains, and long, rolling fields of dancing wheat.  The wind rippling over the fields creates the illusion of waves, apparently found not only in the ocean but on land as well.  As we follow the brown dirt road we are greeted by cattle, horses, and happy people as they awake to the exact same miracle of nature.  It seems everywhere I look, everywhere I go, I cannot escape the abundant happiness and freedom that is existence in this place.

A dip into the briskly cool ocean always follows my run, and my dogs enjoy it as much as I do.  A stop at the local store lets me buy some fresh food and chat with the locals.  I get to pass the Abriendo Mentes office as well, and greet anyone there.  Maybe I’ll hitch a ride back to my house on my neighbor’s passing tractor.  Is it time to surf, paddle board, read a book, swim in the ocean, make some music, teach English, help an old lady?  The day holds endless permutations of excitement and tranquility, and you can do as much or as little as you desire.

The thing that gets me the most is how easily everyone smiles.  Everyone seems to have woken up to the same realization that we live in paradise, and life is free to take us anywhere it pleases, and we are along for the ride.  All of the positive energy of the people and the place make Playa Potrero a haven of happiness.  What better to do than to share this with everyone we meet and spread this in every daily encounter?  This is why I call Costa Rica my home.  Does this sound like something that you may be interested in?

Adam Lanka is a freelance writer living in Costa Rica.  He volunteers his time to write for Abriendo Mentes.  Contact Adam at lanka.adam@gmail.com or follow his blog The Wanderlust.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

