Meet Nana

As we continue to highlight the women of our community, we would like to introduce you to Nana. Nana is a wonderful mother of five, a hard worker, and an important member of the Abriendo Mentes and Potrero community.  Her children attend AM classes and she is always eager to lend a helping hand when needed.  We asked her opinion on what it’s like to be a woman living in Potrero, and about teen pregnancy, an important issue in regards to the young girls in our community.  We hope you enjoy getting to know Nana as much as we enjoy having her in our lives!

You were a teen mother, how do you feel about teen pregnancy in terms of your experience?

I have five children and I am 28 years old.  My first child I had when I was 15 years old.  It was a wonderful pregnancy, but it was so hard because I lost my youth and I gave up my innocence.  After I had my third child, it became hard to be a mother.  My children were so close in age that it was difficult, I had two to three babies at a time.  I went into depression for a while.

I feel that 15 to 20 years old is way too young to have children.  I have sacrificed a lot.  I think the age I am around now, 25 – 28 is a much better age to have kids.

You have a daughter who is about to be a teenager, have to spoken to her about teen pregnancy?

Yes, Sucelli will be 12 in a month and she thinks she will be a woman!  I talk to her all the time about how important it is for her to continue her studies, go to school and enjoy her life while she is young, then she can have a family later.  It is scary and hard being a parent of an adolescent girl.  She likes to dance and hang out with her friends, but I know she is still very young even if she feels she is grown up.

What is it like to be a woman in Potrero?

It’s nice, I enjoy working for my children and for my community.

You grew up in Nicaragua, do you feel that it is different to be a women in Nicaragua compared to Costa Rica?

Yes, I feel there is much more opportunity here.  Before today, I didn’t even know there was such things as International Women’s Day!

Nana with two of her middle children, Fernando (3) and Hilary (5).  Her other children are Sucelli (11) Brandon (8) and Christopher (1).

This entry was posted in Transfer, Women's Empowerment (MAP) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet Nana

  1. Shannon says:

    How wonderful for Nana to share her story with us! She is full of wisdom for the next generation.

Leave a Reply

